California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Construction Law
I am a handyman in Los Angeles. I have a current business license for my handyman service. I was refered to a homeowner to build a two story bathroom addition, I gave him a bid which came to over $500 of course. I told him that in fact I was only a handyman , not a licensed contractor. Even pulled his permits for the dwelling at LADBS as a owner builder. I did most of the work but ran out of money. Now he says he is sueing me which I am understanding of. But he is filing criminal charges as well. He will also admit that I in fact disclosed to him that I was not a licensed contractor. So now he is holding my tools and I cant go to work anywhere bc of this. Because I told him I was not a licensed contractor can he hold my tools in lue of this and can I be criminaly charged for this?


