California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
4/27/09, 12:31 pm

Legal Question


day labor

Good Morning

I am a licensed painting contractor

I was midway thru a job when the

owner pulled me off. For no apparent

reason and said send an invoice .We

will pay you for your time and work. I

have nott seen a check. I called and

she said I will not pay you because

your one person did not have

workmens comp. I hired him as a day

labor. I told her I would take her to

small claims she said I will not win

because I had no workmens comp.

Its almost like blackamail.

What are my options?

thank you for your help


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search