Re: Dismissal without prejudice
Replacing your attorney doesn't ordinarily require or even suggest dismissing an action and re-filing. A dismissal without prejudice does preserve your right to re-file (subject of course to any applicable statute of limitations) but it is a fairly drastic step and will set you back in time and money.
Your new attorney may, however, properly recommend dismissing and re-filing if, for example, there are major technical errors in the previous attorney's work, such as (for example) naming the wrong defendants, failing to add an obvious cause of action, giving the opposition an obvious defense, or the like.
Meeting a September 8 court date might warrant a dismissal and re-filing, but, more likely than not is an over-drastic step. You don't say what the "court date" involves; it could be anything from a simple case management conference to the first day of trial. Substitution of counsel may be adequate reason to postpone the court date, or new counsel could show up and get by with being somewhat unprepared; or, as Mr. Starrett has pointed out, the out-going counsel is obliged to take derriere-garde steps to protect his soon-to-be former client's interests.
If a dismissal without prejudice is to be filed, the judge should be given as much prior notice as possible, as a courtesy. Filing the simple one-page dismissal request is easy, and most court clerks will accept them and enter a dismissal the same day, or the next, but this could vary from county to county with clerical staffs cut way back, as they are these days.
These are things that you should know as well-informed clients. The most important thing is to get a lawyer or law firm "on board" that you trust, as soon as possible, and collaborate with them on making the decision to dismiss, or not.