California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
12/21/10, 3:08 pm

Legal Question


We are licensed contractors in Ca. We did a job for a company that is now out of money. They are going to sell the development where we did the work and say they will pay us upon sale of the land. We want to put a mechanic's lien on the property but that will jeopardize the sale and take us even longer to get paid. So we thought of getting a promissory note on the amount owed, and hold off on filing the mechanic's lien till we absolutely have to. My question is, if we get the owner to sign a promissory note do we lose our right to file a mechanic's lien later?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search