California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Warranty
I had a termite inspection of my house. The inspector missed a rotted subfloor. Although he had a limited guarantee I didn't want to go through him and had a new floor and subfloor put in. Can I go after him in court for reimbursement or have I lost that right by not giving him a chance to repair the damage caused by his negligence?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
Re: Warranty Was this a pre-purchase inspection, or just an inspection done in the course of your ownership of the house. If it was the later, I don't see any grounds for liability on his part (aside from the negiligence of having missed the problem) because you already owned the house, and were stuck with the bad floor whether he found it or not. You have to examine what are your damages - not the replacement of the floor, because again, you would have had to replace it whether he found it or not.
If, on the other hand, this was a pre-purchase inspection, and you bought the home on the basis (in part) of his inspection, there may be liability on his part. Consult with a local real estate attorney, and have him or her review your purchase agreement (did you have the right to cancel or demand repair of the Seller if he had found the problem) and the contract with the termite company. Without reviewing those two documents, its impossible to say if you have a claim or not.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12203
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Michael A. Olden
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


