California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/23/06, 10:47 pm

Legal Question


Can't register my car because of refiance company

In March 2006 I refianced my vehicle through a different company. This new company (HSBC Finance Company) never completed the proper paperwork to refiance the vehicle with the DMV. My registration expired in May 2006, I have paid the fees, but to date (Nov 2006) I still am unable to get the registration and tags for my vehicle. I've contacted the refiance company several times to get this taken care of, but ended up having to contact the DMV in order to get another extension. While at the DMV I applied for the title since the refiance company had not. I know there is a 10 day period after the sale of the vehicle in which the refiance company has to transfer the title per California State law, and it's been 8 months now. The DMV has sent me the original title. What do I need to do in order to have the vehicle transfered into my name?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search