Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

Check Fraud

I was informed that my case would be sent to the DA's office for check fraud, but I have been trying to pay restitution and moved out of state to find a better paying job. I have since been unemployed and fallen behind. They say my balance remaining is $419, but they orginally told me my balance was $525, so far I've payed $276. They have only sent me 1 statement. What are my alternitives and how long of a sentence am I facing if convicted?

Asked on 12/26/07, 7:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jeffrey Cogan Jeffrey A. Cogan, Esq., Ltd.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Check Fraud

Since it is a felony, they can sentence you over one year. I would hire an attorney to keep you out of jail.

Read more
12/27/07, 3:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now