California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Debt Obligations
my partner and i signed a loan for a car purchase. 14 months after signing the loan, we split. she took the car and refuse to return it. i hired an attorney demand letter requesting that she either pay the loan or return the car. she did neither and extorted money out of i to pay the car. master of deception she played this game for another two years, still saying that she would pay the car. but i was the one making the loan payments. she paid registration and insurance. once when i try to retrieve the car from her, she got hostile and attacked. attorney at the time said just let the finance company reposs. so i looked into that. yes, they will repossess but they will still come after i for payment of the loan. i said that ''ex'' is on the loan papers as well, so they need to go after her. they said that since i have been the one paying for the most part, then i am responsible. NOW, it would appear that ''ex'' has left the state with car. since she has taken the car with theft in mind can the car be reported stolen, even if your name is one of the names on the registration. is it possible to tell the finance company that i have already paid half of the loan and if they want the rest, go after her. any suggestions?


