Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

In February my mother was transferred from a hospital to a nursing home for rehabilitation. Upon admittance to the nursing home she was not able to write because she had no use of her hands/fingers. I remember signing some "admission" paperwork. My mother was in this nursing home for about 3 weeks. After she was released she made small payments to the nursing home. My mom passed away early September. A bill came in the mail for this nursing home with a balance of 50 dollars. I sent the bill with a death certificate. The next day I received a call saying that I am responsible for paying the bill. This does not seem right to me. Am I responsible for paying my mothers outstanding medical bills? My mother did not name me as power of attorney. I signed these papers because my mother couldn't and I thought it was namely just for contact purposes.

I don't know what Area of Law this is.......

Asked on 10/30/10, 6:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joe Marman Law Office of Joseph Marman
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You are not responsible for payment of the debts of your mother, unless you are the administrator of her estate.

Read more
Answered on 11/04/10, 9:22 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now