California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
4/03/06, 1:26 pm

Legal Question


Felony assault charge doesn't fit ''crime''.

my husband was arrested last night and booked on a felony assault, spousal abuse. I told the police I didn't want to press charges, I also told them that I had not been hurt, they disagreed, (scratch on neck and small bruise where necklace rubbed skin) I also told them that my husband has a mental illness, (manic depression, diagnosed) but that he had been showing signs that there may be other problems, (possibly schizophrenia or borderline personality disorder) they said they would probably put him on a 72 hour lockup to diagnose the problem, but they have put him in jail instead. I need to know if there is any way to get the current charge lessened or changed so he can be placed in a hospital because where he is now will not help him, may even damage him, and his outburst itself stems from his mental problems and for no other reason. As far as what actually occured before the police arrived, I would rather speak to someone about that either over the phone or through email.


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search