California | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Police abusing there athority
I was on my way home around 11:30pm and truck was running hot so I stoped to let cool. There was a pizza place near where I stoped so went in and got small pizza. Across the street was a construction site that was blocked off by chain link fence, I walked over there stood outside the fence on the sidewalk and was looking at what they were building, munding my own business eating my pizza and here comes a sheriff. Asks me what Im doing, I explained letting my truck cook down, he asks for ID I give him ID, we walk to his car,puts me in back while he calls it in and is clear of any criminal history gets me out of car abd insists I was casing the place to comit a burglary, I said ''Dude I'm just waiting for trk to cool n Im gone.'' He then asks to search me and now it has started to rain. I told him no your not going to search me and treat me as if I was a common criminal. So then he made me turn around hands behind my back and arrested me for ''Prowling'' then went to my truck searched it,dumped ashtray out made a mess by dumoing everything in it found nothing then had it towed, then we we nt to the jail, got booked & released in the rain with no vehicle. that cost over $300 to get out. Were my rights violated and do cops have that power
AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE
Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!
YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!
Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7


