California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/29/09, 1:39 pm

What is the statue of limitations on a misdemeanor resisting arrest in the state of California? and does that mean that the court date has to start by that day?

3 Answers


Answered on: 11/03/09, 1:48 pm by Joe Dane

The statute of limitations has to do with how long the prosecution has to file charges. On a misdemeanor, it's one year.

Once you go to court and are arraigned (enter your not guilty plea), you have speedy trial rights. If you're in custody at the time of your arraignment, you have a right to a trial within 30 days. If you're out of custody, you have a right to a trial within 45 days.

That means that your trial has to start on or before the final day. If you are assigned to a courtroom and a substantial portion of the judge's time is devoted to your case (pre-trial motions, jury selection, etc.), that counts as "starting" your trial.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Joe Dane 850 E. Chapman Ave., Suite C Orange, CA 92866

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/03/09, 1:53 pm by Robert Marshall

The statute of limitations for misdemeanors is one year. Charges must be filed within that time period, but the first court date could be later.

If you were charged with resisting or delaying an officer under Penal Code 148, the statute of limitations would be one year.

Some crimes can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. These are commonly called wobblers. Resisting arrest by force or violence under penal Code 69 is a wobbler. If the DA decided to charge you with a misdemeanor PC 69, the felony statute of limitations would apply. For Penal Code 69, it is there years.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert L, Marshall P.O. Box 7150 Chico, CA 95927-7150

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/03/09, 2:16 pm by Brian Dinday

Mssrs. Marshall and Dane have correctly advised you. To simplify the determination, look at the date of the purple stamped "FILED" mark in the upper right hand corner of the complaint (the document that lists the criminal charges against you) and then compare that date to the day the crime was committed, which should also be stated in the complaint itself. If it is more than a year, the statute of limitations has been exceeded and the charges must be dismissed. Note: in computing time in legal matters you do NOT count the first date and you DO count the last date. So if the crime was committed on July 1, 2008 and the D.A. filed a misdemeanor complaint on July 1, 2009, it is just in time. From July 2, 2008 to July 1, 2009 is 365 days.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Brian R. Dinday 165 North Redwood Drive, Ste 110 San Rafael, CA 94903

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search