California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Age discrimination in promotion of police officer
I recently applied for a promotional position with my police department. I have been employed with the department for nearly 30 years and could retire in a year and a half. During the written portion of the exam I obtained the highest score of all the candidates. During the oral portion of the exam I was required to proved my age and retirement timeline. This age question was not asked of all the applicants and even though I provided my age, I refused to provide a retirement date. Additionally, after the oral I discovered that during the the oral, the examiners has asked different questions to different candidates with some receiving very easy questions. Needless to say I was failed on the oral and the youngest officer taking the test ws promoted. I contacted H.R. and they refused to investigate. Do I have a law suit?


