California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
How do I legally change my name and sex I am a transgender and what are the cost in california. How long will the process take
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Changing your name is relatively easy. There are forms available online at courtinfo.ca.gov. You file the papers, then publish notice for (I believe) four weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in your county (your court clerk will have a list of approved papers). The papers are usually very good at helping you with the paperwork on their end to file proof of publication. You then get a hearing date and go get your name change order. It costs a few hundred dollars in filing fees and for the publication. Other than the obvious medical process, I'm not sure how you would change gender. There aren't many records that list it anyway. I doubt you will get the specialized legal knowledge needed on that issue in a general forum like this. I suggest you do a Google search for LGBT legal aid services to help you there. I know there are several in S.F. and there may be one in San Jose. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


