California | Education Law
Legal Question
I am a graduate student. I am taking a course , and was given previous notes, quizzes and study materials from a student from a previous semester. As students often share notes from semester to semester.The same instructor is teaching this course. The instructor never collected the quizzes from the previous semesters. I was recently caught by this instructor with the prior quiz in my possession. The instructor never bothered to change the questions, and I'm now being accused of cheating. I had no prior knowledge that the instructor was planning on using the same exact quiz as the previous semester, after all , he didn't collect the quizzes, and told us he was going to make a new exam for this term. I am being accused of cheating. Is this my fault, or the instructors fault. My intention was to use the previous exam as a study guide, not for cheating. I feel like I was being set up to fail, and that who knows how many other students may have had the same access to this quiz and never got caught.


