California | Elder Law
Legal Question
Asset Protection Attorney consulted
What right would a ''out of the woodwork'' relative (niece) have to contest an elderly couples to decision to have assets protected for purposes of potential long term care? Basically, my mother, stepfather w/alzheimers, desired to consult about medi-cal for LTC. This niece is worried her uncle's assets will go to the ''stepchildren'' and not her or that she won't end up with anything. She claims she is hiring an attorney to help her. My parents live unassisted right now. I help with all banking, doctors, transportation, groceries, any shopping, etc. The niece lives out of state and has been very absent from his life and that is the same for any family members of his. He has no biological children. They have been married for over 35 years. He is 79, she is 81. They want me to have POA but how would that help them?


