California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
1/15/05, 1:28 pm

Legal Question


Breech of a written agreement - Violation of confidence

A writer approached me to write a book about my story and we sat down to do an initial interview. Because he had no official offer with him to sign and I didn't really know him, I presented him with a piece of paper barring him from using or giving the information to anyone without my written permission. We both signed and dated it. Later, this person became verbally abusive and his friends advised me not to work with him so I kindly declined. Recently I have discovered that he has written a different book (not out yet) of a sordid nature and has included a twisted version of me and the information contained in our interview. He broke our agreement. Do I have any rights? Can I stop the press?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search