California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
12/06/02, 7:18 pm

Legal Question


Legal protection of an original character

Thank You for this web-site.

My question is in the Entertainment field.

I'm producing and writing a comedy show which has a character that is an insect. We've used an actual insect and a toy life-like insect for this part.We overdub voice

and the character has a unique personality.My question is ...how is the best way to copyright this situation? I know I can copyright the whole show on film when it is done but how can I protect this idea? If this was a cartoon I assume I could copyright the 2-dimensional drawing of the character but it really is not a cartoon.He also has a name and wears a hat , and does a variety of things.

By now you probably think this is a bit ridiculous but I am truly miffed by this and this character is very important to the show.

Could you please explain my options???Thank You very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search