California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
4/02/09, 4:06 pm

Legal Question


How do I get out of a management contract?

A few years ago when I was new in the business, I signed a five year management contract as a writer/director and producer. I had no idea what I was doing at the time. The manager was also my employer, so I was wondering if that covered any kind of conflict of interest. He hasn't gotten me any paid work or leads in the last two years. Is there a simple way to get out of this contract? Do I have any rights, or am I just screwed for the next few years?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search