California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
3/17/06, 10:59 pm

Legal Question


Obtaining Film Adaptation Rights

I have a short story by a major author that I've been given a green light to make an offer on; however, I have never tried to negotiate adaptation rights for a literary work before. Is there a generic form that I can adapt for my own use? Are there any tips - as far as negotiating the purchase price, setup fees for production with an independent, or the number of net points - that anyone might have? And do I negotiate all points, or are some things left to the interested studios to negotiate?

Thanks,

Will


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search