California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
I am the owner and main instructor at a small Taekwondo School. A mother is unhappy with the amount of contact her red belt son 12 had with a black belt 14 student while sparring. We start our students after 6 months with no contact sparring, then light contact after a few months, but red+ go a little harder depending on their comfort level.
The mother has filed an incident report with the clubhouse location we rent out space out saying her son was kicked too hard in the head - he was, but they stopped fighting and his partner asked if he was ok, he said yes and they continued on. Accidents happen, but I have been teaching for over 14 years and haven't had a student with any broken bones, bloody noses, or black eyes. We are careful.
The mother is threatening to call the police the next time this happens and claims she's talked to someone at the police dept, and that now this black belt has a "record" and he can be arrested the next time.
I'm very concerned, not for their safety because I know this was an accident and it is a contact sport, but for my student and a police incident if another accident should happen. I believe the risk of having her, and by association her son, at my school has become too great.
Question 1 - can she call the police? what can they really do to my 14 year old student if it was accidental, can they arrest me as the instructor?
Question 2 - we are month to month payment with no contract, if I tell her she is no longer welcome to have her student at my school, can she sue me/ the school?
Sam


