California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
2/17/10, 12:41 pm

Legal Question


i wrote a television script, had it copyrighted with the library of congress and registered it with the writers guild of america.

i have since found out that the title of my script is the same as a title of a novel that was written 20 years ago and that has subsequently made into a video game using the same title.

my 2 questions are this:

1- do i have to change the title of my script?

2- if my script was to be picked up by a network what legal problems would we run into with the name of my tv show being the same as that novel and video game?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search