California  |  Family Law

question bubble
8/28/06, 3:08 pm

Legal Question


Mental Abuse on Child

I have primary custody of my 8 year old son and his mother has her 3 weekends a month (with holiday and vaction time too). My son has become increasingly unhappy going to her mom's because he is afraid of his mom's boyfriend. The boyfriend is extremely nasty to my son, always picking on him, making him cry, and forcing him to go run errand with him even when his mom is around to take care of him.

What is your advice on this situation? I have talked to my ex about his and asked her to talk to her boyfriend but every weekend my son comes home with new stories of how badly he was treated. I want to go to court to change the custody agreement but am afraid that I might lose primary custody all together since I know courts favors the mom. It was a real battle for me to regain primary custody in the first place. I dont' want my son over there at his mom's with the boyfriend's behavior. I forget to mention that the boyfriend is constantly bad mouthing me to my son. I have considered calling child protective services but the abuse is never physical just mental. Please advice. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search