California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/02/13, 10:50 pm

I received a small cash settlement related to an employment issue while I was married. I put the money into a ROTH IRA when I received it. I have since divorced. Do I have to give half to my ex-husband?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/03/13, 6:16 am by Patrick McCrary

The answer is probably, yes, however, more information is needed to determine whether it should be divided. It would be somewhat in the discretion of the judge. You should get a consultation in order to get a determination of whether it is community property or is separate property.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary 222 West Madison Ave El Cajon, CA 91941-4164

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 1:25 pm by Anthony Roach

You would if it is community property. It sounds like it might be community property from your post, because it may have been for income earned during the marriage, which would be community property. You should at least get a consultation in depth on the issue.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 10:11 pm by John Laurie

IF it is determined that it is community property than yes if it is separate property than no


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search