California  |  Family Law

question bubble
5/31/05, 1:00 pm

Legal Question


Transmuted Seperate Property ?

Divorcing. Bought home 1996 paid mo. mortgage paymts. w/ comm. assets from Jun 96 thru Dec 03. In Jan. 04 spouse paid off encumberance w/monies from spouses seperate acct. which contained mostly (if not all) inheritance funds. Bank draft - ''REMITTER'' listed ''John C and Jane B. Doe''. Is this enough to show ''written intent'' to transmute said funds from seperate to community?

I have copies of 2 other large bank drafts from same acct. that only list John C. Doe as the remitter.

It had never been the intent of either of us for one party to have more of an interest in said property than the other. Also, I was not informed of this major financial transaction ($100,000+)until after it was completed.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search