California  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/28/00, 2:28 pm

Legal Question


Validity of "Marriage" in CA

In 1986 when I was having multiple problems, my then-girlfriend and I obtained a confidential license in San Bernardino County. There was a private ceremony performed by her parents, whose ordination is questionable. (Both are now dead and the two-person ministry that ordained them is defunct as of 1990).

Following the ceremony, I worked out of state for two months, and assumed the certificate had been filed. The parents refused to give me a copy. We split up in 1993 and I discovered that she had been drawing welfare on the sly the entire time. I have not seen or heard of her since; I don't even know if she is in the state. The clerk's office has been unable to locate any record of a filing (the parents claimed to have changed the date and filed it later).

I have successfully changed my life; I am now a professional and approaching my master's degree. My question is: in California, does the fact of a ceremony make the marriage legal without a certificate?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search