California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Diagnosis
Is it required to disclose my medical condition to my employer or is that considered confidential serious medical condition
Diagnosis
Is it required to disclose my medical condition to my employer or is that considered confidential serious medical condition
|
Read More Answered By: Arkady Itkin |
Re: Diagnosis No, you are not required and the employer may not inquire into the nature of your condition. The employer has the right to receive documentation that you are suffering from medical condition and what reasonable accommodations he may implement, but he is not entitled to know the nature of your condition. |
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Kirschbaum |
Re: Diagnosis Mr. Itkin is correct that you are not required to tell your employer the nature of your medical condition for FMLA purposes.
But, if you anticipate being out of work for more than 12 weeks or that your condition may require an accommodation from your employer when you return, you should consider keeping them informed about your condition because they may claim they could not accommodate a medical condition or disability they did not know existed.
There is, what we call, an interactive process that must take place, to preserve your rights, if you have a disability. This requires open communication. As a practical matter, unless there is good reason to preserve your medical privacy, I believe it serves employees well to advise the employer of their medical condition or disability and its limitations, so the employer can assess what its obligations are. And if it fails to meet those obligations, you are in a better legal position. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-17
San Ramon, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-11
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
► Cancer + pregrancy + termination = FMLA, CFRA, STD my 32 year old wife was diagnosed...
► (stress leave) if i am on fmla can i go to the lake and jetski?or does that go...
► Fmla In what way would my boss be justified in trying to fire me while on FMLA....
► Paid Medical Leave for small business (less that 50 employees) Hello. My wife was...
► Famliy leave act If i got a seetlement fo 23,000 do i have to report it to the...
► Mom had a stroke family leave act If I take family leave to help with my ill mother...
► Mom had stroke My mom had a stroke and heart attack ans is paralized. She is in a...
More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press