California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
intermittent leave vs full leave
My husband has terminal cancer. I have requested intermittent leave. Over the past 6 weeks his condition has worsened, he needs several procedures and I have had to take off in short notice, without treatment he could die shortly. Once these procedures are done he should not need as many trips to er and hospital. My supervisor told me she wants me to take a leave of absence and not to come back until he is well. Since he is terminal I'm not sure if I she will allow me to come back when the procedures are done. Can she force me to take a full leave of absence? I'm concerned that if I take the leave now, if he takes a turn for the worse in 6 months I won't be able to take off to be with him.


