California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
On SDI/FMLA in CA & Laid Off
I recently went out on SDI/FMLA a week before I gave birth. The day after I gave birth I found out I had been laid off by my employer (a very large US-based company w/ whom I have 8+ years tenure). They essentially eliminated 9 of the 12 FTE's within my division & moved the 3 remaining ee's to a new division (but essentially they have the same job/title/position as before). My company offered severance but has made not mention of me being 'protected'. I've read on other posts that if the company had planned to lay me prior to my going on FMLA and can prove they made the decision regardless of if I was pregnant or not that they were in the clear - however I didn't know if there was any 'wrong doing' since the position technically still exists within the company.
Additionally the standard company maternity leave policy was 90 days (where they supplemented CA SDI and paid me in full for 90 days). HR is now saying that they will not honor that and essentially will no longer supplement CA SDI after it runs out after 10 weeks.
I'm just trying to understand if there's any wrong doing in these two instances.


