California  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
11/04/08, 2:29 pm

Legal Question


Erroneous Reporting by a Government Organization or Private reporting agency

I am a 50 year old male with a college degree and an almost completed MBA who currently lives in Los Angeles. Around 3 years ago I had to plead guilty to a misdemeanor charge in Seattle, Washington because I couldnt afford extended litigation that would require me to travel from Los Angeles to Seattle to settle the case. I just found out recently through a background checking reporting agency called ChoicePoint Workplace Solutions that the misdemeanor that I mentioned above is being reported as a felony by the Administrator of the Courts of Washington. This made me realize that this may have been the reason why I a number of previous employment opportunities that were glaringly shoe-ins for me never got past the interview portion because this would come up in the background check and this would automatically make me a liar if I indicated no to pre-employment question of felony indictment. Am I correct to assume that someone should be liable for incorrect reporting and my subsequent losss of income the last 2-3 years.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search