California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
4/29/04, 1:35 am

Legal Question


Does Atractive Nuisance Doctrine Apply

I live in private subdivision of primarily retired people governed by homeowners assoc/covenants. Roads are posted with 15 mph, but residents/other drivers often exceed limit endangering pedestrians, especially children. Mine and other children recently arrived are at risk in one section of road with no speed bumps. Requests to association install speed bumps in past 16 months were refused because ''they irritate other residents''. Speedbumps were installed elsewhere subdivision in past two years. My several requests are on the record. Question: If my/other children get hurt on road section in question by speeding driver, what is remedy vis a vis associaton? Does road constitute attractive nuisance? Does doctrine apply otherwise? Looking for leverage to force association to take action. Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search