California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Hello. I was at my "friend's" home yesterday and left through their garage door. The door was not shut and his bike was stolen. It was an unfortunate situation and unintentional on my part for his bike to be stolen. I simply didn't understand that it was important to close his door nor was I requested to close it upon leaving. Now my he wants me to replace the entire cost of the bike or else he says he will sue me. Can you tell me if I am liable for his belongings in this situation? Does he have a case against me?


