California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Am I legally responsible to pay?
I am a college student who came into a rather sticky situation. I attend UCSB and came into a one year lease contract, replacing a housemate that never signed the lease, but gave the deposit money and last two months rent to the management company. I spoke to the ex-housemate over the phone and said I would pay her the deposit by the end of January and the last two months, respectively when the time came. I am no longer living in the apartment, and though I did sign the lease, there is a fee I paid to end my contract with them early. I must include that there was no written agreement between us, though I did speak to her over the phone. Am I bounded by my word? Her parents are threatening small claims court, I just need to know if I have any ground to stand on. Thank you for your time.


