California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
The Ex Steals All.
My friend is curious as to how to proceed in the following situation: Three months ago his girlfriend (of less than 2 years) left him, breaking their lease (in her name) and taking all of his personal belongings (all purchased in his name) including gifts given to him. She changed the locks on the storage units, etc. to ensure her possession of things. He was left to deal with the rental company himself and notification from credit card/bill companies for unpaid balances on purchases he had not made. He has paid off almost all debts but wants his things back, or their estimated value (approximately $10,000 for furniture, kitchenware, artwork, etc.) as well as money for her portion of the debt, possible restoration of his credit, and mental frustrations she has caused. He has finally been able to track her down, and now wants to know what he is able to do, if anything.


