California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I am being sued for $850,000
about 4 months ago my friend (of 13 years) and i got into a verbal confrontation at my sisters house. He was walking around with a large amount money asking people if they had any drugs .I pulled my friend aside and told him he cant being doing this around me, my family or our friends. He then told me he was going to kill me if i didnt leave him alone, 3 times total. Then he put his fists up to me as though he was going to hit me . I was scared so in a reaction to protect myself i hit him. Only one time . Unfortunately enough his jaw ended up broken . he was taken to the hospital . well everything was taken care of i told him i would pay for the medial bills, and we still continued to hang out as though everything was fine. Then out of no where 2 months ago i got served with a lawsuit of 850,000 dollars from him . I am at a loss of what to do can i counter-sue him ? Is there anyway he can collect that much from me since i have no assests and are not currently working , and still living at home with my parents? please help


