California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
summons
I was served a summons by fax for a relative who does not live with me. Is this summons valid?
Thank you.
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
Re: summons No. A fax is simply not valid!
A civil summons in California has to be served on you in person at your home. It can also be left at your office with the person in charge and then mailing a copy to the office. It can be substitute-served on a person 18 and over living in your house or in charge of your office if the server, after being "reasonably diligent," cannot find you, that usually means after 2 or 3 attempts.
The other method of service is to send you a copy of the summons and complaint by mail and you acknowledge the receipt of it by signing a form and sending it back.
Liem Doan, Esq. |
|
Read More Answered By: John Hayes |
Re: summons No the service is not proper. There are only a few methods in which service is proper and legal and they are: In person, by leaving a copy at their place of work and then mailing a copy to them, by Notice and Acknowledgement of Receipt or by certified mail. However, I would notify this relative that someone is trying to serve him. If they have left copies at places they believe he works they might have been able to file the proof of service and he only has thirty days from the date of service to file and serve his answer. Even if he believes the lawsuit contains false facts or is bogus, he cannot ignore it. If he does nothing, whomever is suing him automatically wins and they will begin to collect the judgment. If he needs help dealing with this matter or needs advice on what he needs to do, he is welcome to contact my office for a free consultation. My toll free number is 877-546-9918 or he may email me at Johnhayeslaw@cs.com and leave his name and number, and I will call him. I hope that everything works out. If he doesn't call me, have him talk to a lawyer so that his rights are protected and he doesn't end up losing the case before it begins.
Sincerely,
John Hayes, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


