Re: We have a child,I'm a US Citizen he's here on a Tourist visa
First of all, extentions for a visa are regularly granted if the following conditions are met:
1) It is your first request, and
2) You have met the time requirement for filing extention.
Anyways, that is a possible way to keep his visa current and unexpired, but you would need to act quickly due to your time constraint. Even if you act quickly, it may be too late for an extention to be granted.
In any event, with regards to your son's father staying in the U.S., there are several possible avenues that may apply.
The commonly available grounds for relief for those immigrants who are subject for deportation:
1) Waiver-this may be possible b/c of U.S. born child
2) Suspension of Deportation
3) Cancellation of removal
4) Withholding of Deportation
5) Adjustment of Status
6) Asylum
These are some of the more common grounds for relief, and some may or may not apply. I would certainly need to get more information from you to help evaluate your possbile options.
In short, you may not necessarily need to marry your son's father to prevent his departure, and marriage in itself is not an absolute guarantee.
You do have a case to keep your son's father in the U.S., especially if you marry and can show that it was a "bona fide" marriage. However, in all truthfulness, the procedures are complex for those who are not familiar with the process or the law.
Please feel free to call if you have any further questions and ask for "Katch."
(213) 384-2220