Re: hello
It depends on the relationship of the family member. If a parent, spouse or child (over 21) who is a citizen, then there's something to work with. If a sibling, that takes something like a decade. Also if spouse is permanent resident, that works too and finally, depending where he's from. A petition by an employer might also be possible, with some twists and turns. There are difficult complications if he never had a petition filed on his behalf or for his parents. He could probably benefit from the Dream Act, if some version of that ever becomes law, either that or a more generalize amnesty. The Dream Act has been introduced time and again and specifically benefits the best and brightest illegals. Our congress has yet to recognize the benefit of such people and instead has protected the U.S., supposedly.
We'll see what happens with the new administration.
Check me out at http://www.yardum-hunter.com or email me at alice@yardum-hunter.com.
Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, Attorney at Law, Certified Specialist, Immigration & Nationality Law, State Bar of CA, Bd. of Legal Specialization
15915 Ventura Blvd., Penthouse #1, Encino, CA 91436
A “Super Lawyer” 2004 – 2009, Los Angeles Magazine