California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/23/03, 5:49 pm

Legal Question


Green Card Holder's application for Citizenship

I have been a permanent resident in the US for almost 5 years now (DV program) and I want to apply for citizenship. After I become a US citizen I want to get married to a foreigner and bring her here legally, that's why I want to go through this process as fast as possible.

My questions are:

- Can I apply before the 5 years period? (the 5 years will be up in May 2004).

- How long does it usually take to process the reqest for citizenship in this case?

- Will I need legal assistance to make the application?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search