Re: I married on a visitor visa
Good Afternoon and Congratulations on getting married!
If you entered the country legally, then you can apply for adjustment of status through marriage without leaving the U.S., even if you overstayed.
However, if you did not enter legally, you will only qualify to adjust in the U.S. if you are protected by another immigrant petition filed for you on or before April 30, 2001.
If you qualify to adjust your status in the U.S., you must show proof of a real marriage,like joint documents. It may take a few months to get joint documents together, which is why some people wait a few months after marriage to apply for their permanent residency.
To discuss your specific case further, kindly email me at eloreto@loretomedinalaw.com, or refer to our contact information on our website at www.loretomedinalaw.com. We offer a FREE initial consultation and payment plans.
Note: The above response is provided for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration.