Re: Misdemeanor and US citizenship
Presumably you are a permanent resident already. If that is the case, you are probably fine. You need to establish good moral character over the past five years. Sometimes they can go back beyond the five years. In this case, depending how safe you want to be, you might wait a little bit, though I don't think the subsequent charges would affect you even if within the past five years. The 1988 conviction doesn't hurt you anymore, particularly if you were under 18 at the time.
I would be happy to help you out if you contact me offline. Check me out at http://www.yardum-hunter.com, fill out a consultation request there at http://www.yardum-hunter.com/Main/Consultation.asp or email me at alice@yardum-hunter.com.
Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, Attorney at Law, Certified Specialist, Immigration & Nationality Law, State Bar of CA, Bd. of Legal Specialization
ST: 15915 Ventura Blvd., Penthouse #1, Encino, CA 91436
EM: alice@yardum-hunter.com WEB: http://www.yardum-hunter.com
A “Super Lawyer” 2004 – 2009, Los Angeles Magazine