California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/14/07, 8:25 pm

Legal Question


Concerning Intellectual Property Rights

I am being sued by a company claiming intellectual property rights and trademark infringement, trade dress infringement, trade likeness.

I sell Airsoft bb guns and carry models that look like real steel guns. One model in particular is a AK47 and this company thinks that because they pay a licensing fee to Kalishnikov who invented the AK47 years ago that they have exclusive rights to the shape and name AK47.

Airsoft manufactures overseas have been making this model and selling them in the US way before this company ever paid a licensing fee for it. I am not the only person selling this item or items. So wouldn't the grandfather clause come in to play?

I also buy all my merchandise from large US importers in the US, so why go after me and not them?

Are you familiar with Colt Defense vs Bushmaster? Colt sued over tradelikeness on the M4 Carbine and lost their case.

Basically they are throwing a bunch of junk in the suit trying to force me out of business to claim a larger portion of the pie.

I was told if I sell their items exclusively they will drop the case. So isn't this also criminal on their part and fall under Anti Trust ect...?

Forgot to mention they are suing me out of Indiana and I live in Californi


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search