California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
5/10/05, 8:11 pm

Legal Question


Negotiating a Software or Patent License

Situation is: entering a contract with a development firm

that will be using alot of their code (already written) and

also writing code for us based on our filed biz methods

patent. They currently use their code in their own

product which they are selling. Our product which will

use some of this code-will be sold (by us) to their

customers also but for a different solution. There could

be some overlap in the future because our patent

applies to many channels /markets-some of whcih

theyare currently selling to with a vaguely similar

product. The issue is -if we split up-who owns what

AND, WHAT KIND OF ATTORNEY DO I GO TO? a

software licensing attorney? my patent attorney? or a

business attorney to negotiate all of this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search