California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
9/07/10, 8:29 am

Legal Question


Producer optioned copywrited material for motion picture. Producer has rewritten a third of the motion picture screenplay during that option period. Option expires October 7. Sent a reminder to said producer that the option will soon expire. Producer called and announced that he will be producing a screenplay based on his changes. I reminded him that he cannot use any of my intellectual property including, characters, scenarios, and any other material that I have protected. My question: Who owns any changes made to the optioned material? And how do I protect myself from borrowing any of my material that he feels that he needs? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search