California  |  Juvenile Dependency

question bubble
1/26/08, 12:25 pm

Legal Question


Legal Guardianship

I am paternal grandmother who has a son who has 2children going thru JD court. He is going thru re-unifiecation w/one child. He did not know he was the father of the 2nd child till 2mos ago. He has decided to not get reunification w/the 2nd child due to finances. The 2nd child has special needs due to neglect and is doing well in foster care. The foster care wants to adopt her, but I would like to petition to be a legal guardian to keep the 2nd child within our family, and with her brother. I am having a conflict w/the SSW due to how well the child is doing in foster care and they do not want to remove her. My problem is I can't afford the childcare expense while I work. This is why the SSW's feel she is better off w/the foster mom who can stay home and care for her special needs, as where I will have to place her in daycare. The baby seems ok, just has delayed development issues and exposed to FAS. I don't want to loose my grandaughter because I can't afford to stay home. My young son and my grandson need to live w/me as he is not able to make it on his own yet. w/my son relinquishing his rights can I file for legal guardianship since the SSW said I can't be a foster parent or adopt if he is living in the same house w/me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search