California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/10/07, 10:38 pm

Legal Question


landlord is charging me for damages

I moved out of my apartment about a month ago, and I have now received a bill for damages to the apartment that far exceed my security deposit and my expectations. Nearly $5,000 is being charged to my roommates and I for different ''damages.'' $800 for trash removal and nearly $700 for cleanup. On what planet does it cost this much to clean an apartment? I would have been fine paying for a $50 maid to come clean but this is ridiculous. Can they really charge these exhuberant prices for these services? They are charging me to replace barstools because they had some dirt on them and a new desk because it was stained (a stain that could have been removed with pinsol). What can I do? The landlord won't even let me contest the charges, he's threatening to take me to collections if I don't pay in 10 days!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search