California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/30/03, 3:19 pm

Legal Question


Making Payments for last month rent of lease after vacating property

I am having to vacate my apartment 30 days early (lease ends October 31st) and am wanting to make payments toward the final months rent. I am leaving because my financial situation has changed and I am not able to afford the apartment anymore. I asked the manager if I could make payments for the remaining $1265.00 if I vacated prior to the 1st of October. The manager stated if I do not pay the rent in full, whether or not I have vacated the property, she would have to start the eviction process and it would wreck my credit. Is that my only option? Please help since I only have a few days to figure out how to handle this. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search