California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
12/26/07, 3:39 pm

Legal Question


quarreling neighbors dragging us in

We have lived in the same condo for about 18 yrs. Our

neighbor across the hall, who has lived here for about as many

years, plays the piano and sings. There are four units in our

area of the building, and none of us minds when he plays the

piano. Indeed, we are all tolerant of each other and have lived

in peace since we first moved in. However, a new owner moved

in to the unit above our musical neighbor, and he complains

incessantly when he plays his piano. Our homeowner's assoc.

set limits on the times when our musical neighbor can play, but

this is not enough for our new neighbor, who is now harassing

the rest of us into turning against the piano player. He says

that we are all liable for not stopping him from playing and that

he will sue all of us through our homeowner's association.

Can he sue us for this, and if so, can we counter-sue him for

harassing us in this manner, when for years we have lived in

peace and he is attempting to drag us into his dispute?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search