California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I recently found out that my landlords rented me an illegal unit for 2+ years. They converted the lower level of their tri-level home into a 1-bedroom apartment. The utilities were included in the rent and I had no control over the heat in the unit. The only time I received heat is when the landlords turned on the heater in their home and it reached the lower level.
I contacted the city and found out the unit is not zoned for multi-family use and that no permits were available for the construction of the unit.
I moved from the apartment on December 14. Can I sue for back payment of rent? I paid $1,750 per month for rent. Can I sue in Small Claims Court multiple times or do I have to go to Superior Court? If so, how long do I have to file a claim? I am already filing a claim in SCC for the late return (30 days) of my security deposit and excessive charges.


