California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
i recieved a three day pay or quit. i am not able to fullfill this notice what will happen next ?
will i need to move on the third day or will i have more time .
keith in san diego county ca.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
No. The landlord's attorney will file an unlawful detainer lawsuit against you. You will then have five days in which to answer or demurrer to the complaint. These are legal documents. Then, a trial will be set probably within 2-3 weeks. Once there is a judgment, you then would have to move once the notice of lockout is posted by the sheriff. The downside of the unlawful detainer lawsuit is that it gets placed on your credit report and the UD registry, which might make it more difficult to rent elsewhere.
When you receive the summons and complaint, you might seek help from eviction defense clinics scattered around the state, and probably in San Diego, as well. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


